The photo library grays out photos which were already imported so that you don't upload duplicates. If you think a photo or video did not actually upload from your camera roll, you can reset the photo library, so it will let you import again.

To do this:

Go to Settings in the app and choose reset Photo Library Selections that will “unblock” them